Frequent Questions

Who is responsible for overseeing the asbestos-in-schools regulations?

EPA is the primary governmental agency responsible for enforcing the regulations promulgated under AHERA. However, if your State has been issued a "waiver" (or delegation of program authority), the State agency then becomes responsible for enforcing these requirements. The states that currently have waiver programs are: Connecticut, Colorado, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Illinois, Kentucky, and New Hampshire.

Have more questions? Submit a request